As a local government, Council gets their authority through The Municipalities Act, 2006, which is the foundation for rural municipal government. Our municipal council is an elected body made up of a reeve and six councillors representing six divisions. The Reeve and Councillors serve a four year term commencing on the first meeting following a general election. The Reeve and Councillors for Divisions 1, 3, and 5 are elected in the same year and Councillors for Divisions 2, 4 and 6 are elected in the same year as per The Local Government Election Act, 2015.

The next general municipal election for Reeve and odd numbered divisions will be held on Wednesday, November 13, 2024.


Reeve Barry Friesen (306) 867-3590 2016-present
Councillor Lonnie Ingell Division One (306) 867-7008 2020-present
Councillor Bryce Mauch Division Two (306) 856-0057 2022-present
Councillor Mike Z. Hofer Division Three (306) 371-7900 2020-present
Councillor Bob Silverthorn Division Four (306) 856-2135 2018-present
Councillor Craig Barrington Division Five (306) 860-7802 2020-present
Councillor Bill Thompson Division Six (306) 856-4710 2018-present

The Council for the R.M. of Fertile Valley No. 285 meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 8:30 a.m.

The meeting dates for 2023 are:  January 11, February 8, March 8, April 12, May 10, June 14, July 12, August 9, September 13, October 11, November 8, and December 13. 

Any delegations wishing to meet with Council should contact the Administrator by 5:00 p.m. on the Monday prior to the Wednesday Council meeting day.

A plaque displaying the history of Reeves, Councillors and Administrators who have served this municipality since its incorporation in 1909 is displayed in the municipal office. It is updated as changes occur.



Administrator – L. Jean Jones

Foreman – Darren Jones

Seasonal Operator – Lloyd Joyes

Seasonal Operator – Aaron Shaw

Seasonal Operator – Brent Silverthorn

Seasonal Operator – Brad Jess